Last weekend I wrote a post in which I asked readers for feedback on what my weekly blog gimmick should be (https://scienceandtheology.wordpress.com/2010/08/08/the-every-other-weekend-happy-day-blog-gimmick/).

There was not much discussion to be had, but I came up with my own solution… from here on out, the every other weekend happy day positive blog gimmick will be renamed the “Illuminating quote(s) of the week.”  (This will still be every other week mostly likely, but you try putting every other in to that phrase).  Sources will vary but each week it or they will be centered on a particular topic and I think, all illuminate in their own way.  Of course, I implore you, the readers, to share quotes as well.  It’s kind of like a recipe exchange only with words and we don’t get to eat afterwards.

Today, I have a handful of quotes for you all having to do with the pursuit of knowledge.

“If we value the pursuit of knowledge, we must be free to follow wherever that search may lead us. The free mind is not a barking dog, to be tethered on a ten-foot chain.”  Adlai E. Stevenson Jr.

“I was bold in the pursuit of knowledge, never fearing to follow truth and reason to whatever results they led, and bearding every authority which stood in their way.”  Thomas Jefferson

(The previous two quotes remind us that our pursuit of knowledge should be done without fear of where it may lead us: see previous post, https://scienceandtheology.wordpress.com/2010/08/06/removing-the-fear-of-the-slippery-slope/).

“An investment in knowledge pays the best interest.”  Benjamin Franklin  (ah, now that’s a good pun…)

“True knowledge exists in knowing that you know nothing.”  Socrates  (a good reminder for intellectual humility)

“The knowledge of God is very far from the love of Him.”  Blaise Pascal  (can this be true?)

“All our knowledge has its origins in our perceptions.”  Leonardo da Vinci  (he really was a scientist)

“Where there is shouting, there is no true knowledge.”  Leonardo da Vinci  (hear that, blog commenters?)

“I had therefore to remove knowledge, in order to make room for belief.”  Immanuel Kant  (logic and faith become “enemies”, and apologists have their platform)

“A thorough knowledge of the Bible is worth more than a college education.”  Theodore Roosevelt  (oh, Teddy…)

And, last but not, least, we are reminded by our good friends the Simpsons that a pursuit of knowledge may not be without its detractors…

Bart: [after they watch a foreign film] I was so bored I cut the pony tail off the guy in front of us.

Bart [holds pony tail to his head]: Look at me, I’m a grad student. I’m 30 years old and I made $600 last year.

Marge: Bart, don’t make fun of grad students. They’ve just made a terrible life choice.

