So I had the privilege today of attending one day of a three day review board and continuing medical education for physicians in infectious disease.  I joked with my colleague who graciously offered to take me (and got in me for free) that when I got home this Ph.D. would have to wash the M.D. off of me.

Kidding aside, I was in way over my head but got a lot of good ideas for how I could improve the ways that I deliver content in my Med Micro lectures and Immunology class.  And I got to remember why I once was so interested in going in to medicine.  I heard lectures and case studies in infectious disease broadly and specifically in tuberculosis and other mycobacterial infections, endocarditis, orthopedic and implant infections, and zoonoses, which was outstandingly presented by my wonderful colleage, Jeff Nelson.  This will all be of benefit to my teaching (and I hope to do a day of this every year or so), but I now probably know just enough now to completely misdiagnose anyone who comes to me for advice.  HA (sigh).

Anyway, this all leads me to my illuminating quote of the (every other) week.  I couldn’t help but think about this particular quote today as I sat in and learned about all of these different pathogenic organisms, the various treatment options, and the different portals of entry and exit in the body that enable disease transmission.  So, here goes:

“Kids, we need to talk for a moment about Krusty Brand Chew Goo Gum Like Substance. We all knew it contained spider eggs, but the hantavirus? That came out of left field. So if you’re experiencing numbness and/or comas, send five dollars to antidote, PO box… ”  (Krusty the Clown from the Simpsons)

