aka: my brain hurts.

I absolutely love the NPR 13.7 Cosmos & Culture blog and thoroughly enjoy reading the entries of all of the various contributors.  In fact, I routinely link to posts from the site on Twitter (and will likely do more of that in the future on my blog as well).

But one of the contributors, Stuart Kauffman, often leaves me scratching my head.   Don’t get me wrong, it’s clear that he is quite smart and potentially has really great ideas… the problem is, there are posts every now and then like this where I don’t have the foggiest idea what he’s talking about.  For instance, see the link below… I like to think of myself as being fairly sharp but I don’t know have a clue what he’s talking about here.  Any of you capable of translating for me..?

http://www.npr.org/blogs/13.7/2010/11/15/131330460/beyond-einstein-and-schrodinger-part-i?ft=1&f=114424647

