Earlier tonight, I like many others probably, watched the Tucson Memorial Service.  To be honest, my watching it was by accident as my extended family and I were watching “Minute to Win It” before it cut out to the Service.  I say this to show that I don’t usually watch or read much of anything that is relevant to politics.  Maybe I will as I get older, or maybe I won’t, but at this point in my life, I can’t seem to muster up the energy or interest.  In addition, and of course you HAVE to mention this in any discussion that is even remotely connected to politics, I want to note that when I do pay attention to politics, I am not for a particular party, having voted Democrat and Republican in the past.  When push comes to shove, I would label myself agnostic or apolitical, but this introduction is getting lengthy already so we’ll leave further discussion of my politics (or lack thereof) in the future… maybe.

Overall, I liked President Obama’s speech (as I usually do), although I thought that the event felt much more like a rally (more pep, than political) than a memorial service.  Maybe that’s what we needed (pep) because I know politicizing isn’t (even if it is inevitable).  And thus you see a reason for my previous paragraph.

Nevertheless, there was a particular sentence in Obama’s speech that got me to thinking: 

    “The forces that divide us are not as strong as the forces that unite us.” 

Many will applaud this statement.  And I do as well.  I even think it’s true. But do you?  And if you do think the unity is stronger than division currently, how much longer do you think this will remain so?

Perhaps I’m being too pessimistic but I see no reason as it stands today to believe that the ideological divide will stop growing.  Do you?  If so, what is it?  Am I just being too pessimistic?  Perhaps the divide is not so big?  Or am I being too optimistic and the forces that divide are already greater than the forces that unite?

