The last two years I’ve been a part of the Trustee competition at North Park where high schools seniors compete for scholarship money. I wrote a post previously about this competition, providing some of the responses the students shared on the question I had them discuss: What are the limits of science?

Before the serious portion of the discussion, I ask them to go around and share some of their background info and ask some random question about them. I usually do this at the beginning of all of my classes too. The one that hasn’t gotten the best feedback and gotten the students the most comfortable is the one in the subject line. Always gets a good rise.

Mine? That’s easy… Junior. Horrible movie. Second is You’ve Got Mail. No, not because it’s sappy. I like Notting Hill after all. It’s just that You’ve Got Mail stunk. What’s yours?

