Perhaps it’s time to get back to regularly scheduled links roundups? I shall try, I shall try. Here are the links for the week. If you follow me on Twitter, these will look familiar as this is a collection of the links from throughout the week. If you don’t follow me on Twitter… do it! Twitter is great!

Musical accompaniment. Door 1. Door 2. Door 3. Choose wisely.

Recap from this blog since the last links roundupfalse faith claims and faith as cognitive sickness, typologies, categories, and the myth of science and religion at war, the weekly TED talk, and we had some laughs. Good week I would say. I also played with my kids a lot, but I guess I don’t have a link for that… ūüė¶

Science:

Religion:

  • Multiple selections from friend Rachel Held Evans’ blog. Hope she’s pacing herself. There’s a lot more year ahead of us… First, an introduction to process theology (with the help of Bo Sanders and Tripp Fuller). Next, love the Bible for what it is, not what I want it to be. Last, Mark Driscoll and his new book on marriage. All 3 posts are outstanding.
  • Undeception says, “Lewis agreed with me about the Canaanite genocides. Smart fella!”
  • Scot McKnight makes an argument against the internet. Gotta love that humility… but not that shirt. No way dude.

The space-between:

  • Karl Giberson on the Huffington Post with a nomination for the lifetime peacemaker in science and religion award. You know I agree.¬†Of course this got¬†Jerry Coyne¬†all excited, which made me a little hot around the collar as well and generated a lot of feedback on Facebook.
  • Speaking of Coyne, he wrote a post on free will. Oh by the way, you don’t have it. Thinking Christian responded with a great post. Then, since it’s the web, it went back and forth. I enjoy reading these posts but it’s clear that no real conversation is occurring. My default position as a biologist is that “Experts in biology ‚Ȇ experts in all. Rinse and repeat.” This doesn’t mean biologists can’t share positions on these matters, but to think they are doing so as experts is ¬†ridiculous. But I do appreciate that Coyne is at least taking the time to explore his position to the logical extremes.
  • RJS has been going through Polkinghorne’s two¬†latest¬†books. Here is a sketch on motivated belief and one on testing Scripture. Love the posts and Polkinghorne’s ideas.
  • Excellent review of C. John Collins’ new book: Did Adam and Eve Really Exist? Who They Were and Why You Should Care by Peter Enns. I should have a review of Enns’ new, related book posted in the upcoming weeks as well.
  • Intelligent Design is dead. A Christian Perspective. Love the quote comparisons…

I leave you with a quote to ponder. See you next week.

RT @philoquotes: You are a little soul carrying around a corpse. ~ Epictetus

