The below link has made for a great day of discussion on the Jesus Creed blog.  RJS shared a letter (and her personal comments on it) from a personal friend of Scot’s, who is/was going through a crisis of faith re: the historical accuracy of Genesis and faith in the Bible in general.

http://blog.beliefnet.com/jesuscreed/2010/07/houston-weve-had-a-problem-rjs.html

While the heavy discussion (88 comments already) has veered off topic a bit, the comments have certainly beneficial for me as I see how fellow Christians struggle through the issue of truth and reliability in the Bible.  I don’t want to reproduce the blog post here, as it would be much better for the reader to simply head off to the link above to better engage in the discussion.  I have, however, reproduced a portion of my comment (#88) below for consideration over here, if people are interested.

“To Robin et al… I just can’t agree with you guys based upon my relationship with Christ, my communion with the rest of the Church, and my scientific background. But I appreciate hearing your thoughts. I will say your position is untenable to those wishing to engage/evangelize intellectual atheists and likely most that don’t come out of a fundamentalist background. Alternatively, I can see how my position (which is probably most similar to RJS, although I’m not sure) would drive you absolutely bonkers.

I am concerned about the overwhelming desire I see in some for an airtight apologetic when the truth is most likely to be gray, complex, and ultimately not completely explainable. There is a fear that if this is “not true” (which needs better explaining for me), than that’s not true, like faith in Christ is a geometry problem. It is not so simple. But what is simple, is that faith based on shaky foundations will die. And we do NOT want that.”