Houston, We’ve Had a Problem (RJS)… Jesus Creed blog

The below link has made for a great day of discussion on the Jesus Creed blog.  RJS shared a letter (and her personal comments on it) from a personal friend of Scot’s, who is/was going through a crisis of faith re: the historical accuracy of Genesis and faith in the Bible in general.

http://blog.beliefnet.com/jesuscreed/2010/07/houston-weve-had-a-problem-rjs.html

While the heavy discussion (88 comments already) has veered off topic a bit, the comments have certainly beneficial for me as I see how fellow Christians struggle through the issue of truth and reliability in the Bible.  I don’t want to reproduce the blog post here, as it would be much better for the reader to simply head off to the link above to better engage in the discussion.  I have, however, reproduced a portion of my comment (#88) below for consideration over here, if people are interested.

“To Robin et al… I just can’t agree with you guys based upon my relationship with Christ, my communion with the rest of the Church, and my scientific background. But I appreciate hearing your thoughts. I will say your position is untenable to those wishing to engage/evangelize intellectual atheists and likely most that don’t come out of a fundamentalist background. Alternatively, I can see how my position (which is probably most similar to RJS, although I’m not sure) would drive you absolutely bonkers.

I am concerned about the overwhelming desire I see in some for an airtight apologetic when the truth is most likely to be gray, complex, and ultimately not completely explainable. There is a fear that if this is “not true” (which needs better explaining for me), than that’s not true, like faith in Christ is a geometry problem. It is not so simple. But what is simple, is that faith based on shaky foundations will die. And we do NOT want that.”

About justintopp

Biology professor/mentor who loves sports, laughter, science & religion/theology (especially mind, evolution, soul, and what it means to be human), and most of all, his bride and baby girl.
This entry was posted in Atheism, Evangelicalism, Subjectivity. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Houston, We’ve Had a Problem (RJS)… Jesus Creed blog

  1. like a child says:

    I found this sermon on doubt today that was sort of helpful…http://www.rededicate.org/media/audio/2009-10-11-am.mp3, and made me momentarily wish I lived in Boston.

  2. justintopp says:

    I’ll have to check it out. Boston is nice… but NC ain’t too shabby either.

  3. Like a Child says:

    NC has great weather, but even in this academic area, it still has too much of hold of the fundamentalist south.

Leave a Reply

